1:09 p.m. Another normal day of slavery 2002-04-08
Reaped ...did i mention?

- no tuition waivers this summer, meaning a pay cut of 1000 bucks.

-no mention of our poster session in the "reference department update" (though all the others were)

-now that i'm classified OPS instead of GA, i get all the lack of respect, stupid questions, and interoffice hostility, but I can work more hours AND get paid less!! I'm so excited I'm crapping my pants!

oh yeah, and none of the people working the desk said a word to me the entire hour. not even hello. not even, sorry about the waiver thing (they told us over email)

so anyway, the work situation has left me feeling unloved and overworked. bleh.

and of course, there's the notorious psychology dept. matron who needs information on the Maudsley obsessive compulsive behavior test, "historical information, only." no, she doesn't want the book the Maudsley guy wrote, she doesn't want the conference proceedings with the chapter on the Maudsley test. she doesn't want to thumb through the Mental Measurements Yearbook or look at citations in PsychInfo. "I just want a book on the historical background." she says. Well we don't have one exactly like that. What do you take us for, a research institution? We can't even pay our grad. students a reasonable stipend. I am somewhat frustrated. "Are you a student?" she asks.

A seriously underpaid one, I think, and lead her back to the reference desk, and into the hands of a more capable (read-patient) librarian.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie