7:38 p.m. Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt 2004-05-05
Reaped Day 2 (Did you miss Day 1?)

The previous day having wiped us out, we aimed to take it easier for the final day of IndieRawkWoodstawk, er, Coachella. Bands didn�t start until 1pm, so we slept late & dawdled on the way into the festival. Somehow, Sister gave herself pinkeye on Saturday, while I was hacking up mucus of various spectrums. Chalk it up to 3 states worth of germs and not enough sleep. We took some Claritin & headed to the polo fields. I got the last medium Pixies Sellout tour tshirt & someone hooked us up w/ ganjcookies. Good to take your mind off the fact it was 110 and not even noon.

Pretty Girls Make Graves: NYC art rock. Great lyrics with a rock roll beat. The lead singer is riot grrl personified. I want to be her. However, the heat was too much to bear after their 50 minute set. We headed for a sliver of shade next to the beer tent, which conveniently faced one of the outdoor stages. We discovered said beer tent was air-conditioned, but not wanting to pay SIX BUCKS for a friggin� brewski we simply lift the flaps of the tent & cool our butts. We stay in said spot for about 2 hours, emerging for water occasionally. Which was fine since it enabled us to 1) not die of heatstroke and 2) see:

!!!: click click click. Pow pow pow. The exclamation point band. Whatever you wanna call it, their upbeat post-punk disco rock made me wanna dance. In the shade. While sitting. (Damn cookies.) The lead singer also gets the award for best quote of the festival: "I noticed some of you was singing along. Our cd doesn�t even come out unitl June 8th so that means one thing...YOU'VE BEEN DOWNLOADING! I'm poor as fuck, pay my bills motherfucker!" Hell yeah. I�m downloading them as we speak.

Broken Social Scene: award for biggest surprise/band I�d never heard of. Kinda Yo-la-tengo guitar distortion softer-rock. There�s about 10 people in the band, plus they kept bringing on people to jam. Great with the cookies, dude. C4bbie observes they are the kind of band that sound great live but who�s albums are hit and miss. Live though, it was spiritual. And one of the band members proposed to his girlfriend during the set. She said yes.

Atmosphere: hip-hop. Their dj�s record MELTED during the set, so they improvised for a bit. Cool under pressure.

Muse: So I had to go get water, but leaving the safe haven of the shade afforded my ears the musical stylings of Britain�s supposed next-big-thing in the US. One song was kinda gothy in a good way, the next more nu-metal in a bad way. Others say they sound like radiohead. I�d see �em in concert again.

At this point we left the shade to secure good places for the evening�s performances. Unfortunately this required us sitting through the uninspired emo drivel that is the band Thursday. I�m sorry if you like them, but I think they used to be called Pearl Jam? The number of girls in singing along to the cute lead singers lyrics only intensified my resentment that put B&S could play for two hours if it weren�t for them. I mean, props to the singer, who was incredibly sick & at one point almost passed out on stage, but why god, why?

Belle & Sebastian: Stuart wore suspenders, a cute little hat and spoke with the most awesome Scottish accent. The most perfect 50 minutes of the day. Worth waiting through a set of crappy radio friendly punk emo sputum. Played mostly stuff off Dear Catastrophe Waitress, with a break for Stars of Track & Field off Sinister & a couple from Fold your Hands� Over way too soon. I must see them again.

AIR: Having just seen Air in nola not a month ago, I can safely say they are impeccable musicians (god, how much of a music snob am I sounding like today?). They liked playing for us in nola better though, cos at the end of that set they said "szank you, you are szexy" and they didn't here. Played mostly Talkie Walkie & Moon Safari songs, including Kelly watch the Stars & of course Sexy Boy, & one instrumental from the Virgin Suicides soundtrack. Air is very pink-floyd psychedelia with a French trance infusion. As they wound up the set I found myself staring up at the full moon which rose as the sun went down, trying to memorize the outline of the mountains that surrounded the fields before they faded into milky blue darkness. AIR is good to do stuff like that to.

Flaming Lips: In a nutshell: Wayne Coyne descended from the heavens in a giant plastic bubble & surfed on the crowd while the band members jammed in stuffed animal costumes. More stuffed animals threw balloons into the audience and danced around search lights. The Lips did some songs off Yoshimi & an intense version of Race for the Prize, Coyne went off on why George Bush sucked, then we sang happy birthday to Beck�s unborn child while Coyne dumped fake blood on his head. Unforgettable.

the Cure: Old standards, thank god, their new stuff sucks. And dear lord Robert Smith is looking like Baby Jane these days, especially when projected onto giant movie screens above the stage. Frightening. Perhaps he should spend some of the royalty money from selling �Pictures of You� to Kodak on a fucking chin lift. I�m just saying. Perhaps I�m bitter since I realized the last time I saw the Cure was EIGHT YEARS AGO and that means I�m getting old. On the bright side, they did Fascination Street. & can I say I�ve never seen so many multicultural Goths gathered in one place before in my life? Philipino, Japanese, Mexican, white bread, who knew?

And that my friends, was Coachella. My fingers hurt from typing this all down. If you need more info, try the Goldenvoice discussion board. My work here is done.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie