12:13 p.m. The $1,000 Raccoon. 2003-05-06
Reaped

Dropped Ruby off for her 5000 mile check-up today. Get the terminal call later in the morning. Turns out her radiator was hanging on by three screws. Three screws? How is that possible with a car barely six months old?

The answer to that riddle is the $1,000 Raccoon.

They met briefly somewhere west of Mobile Alabama. He was a fat piece of fur with a death wish, she was a paint huffing red-head with an unhealthy passion for speed. Their meeting could only end in sorrow: not with a bang, but a juicy red splat.

It was great discussing this with Chaz, the friendly dealership mechanic.

�Yeah, we saw some hair and stuff in there but didn�t really know what had happened to shatter that chassis. It�s fiberglass dawggonit.�

I knew though. 80 mph, a shield of darkness and one furry woodland creature. That�s all it takes to shatter that shit.

So now Ruby�s taking a breather, as I wait for the insurance appraiser to come confirm that it was an animal collision, which my friendly insurance agent informed me, has a 500 dollar deductible. Which makes the $1,000 Raccoon slightly less. And for which I may be waiting several days to take advantage of. 3 actually. Bleh. The week of shit continues.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie