4:27 p.m. On mortality & other sick fetishes 2003-03-28
Reaped good mood. my horoscope according to vogue informs me my planets are back in alignment and everything is a-okay, perky and bright. Not a blemish to be had.

Did a presentation for some residents today at the clinical hospital. felt a little leery, but not because of the class or anything. it was more the sneezing, coughing, hacking filling the room. does louisiana have any cases of Cap'n Tripps yet? Guess not since I couldn't find any recorded cases, nor did crazy officemate librarian, who though nuts is pretty on top of that kind of stuff. I mean, we're medical librarians. It's our job. But again, I've read The Stand at least six times (we're talking the unabridged, kills-small-children-size version) so it doesn't surprise me that nobody is saying anything panic-inducing, except there's now 51 non-lethal cases in the US. (see http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/news/fullstory_12148.html for more info). Which is DOUBLE that of yesterday. Not to scare you or anything. Meanwhile, the whole city of Toronto is practically under quarantine, or so corporate media outlets say.

But I didn't read that book 6 times for nothing. Or andromeda strain or the plague or any of the countless other world-ends-via-disease-survivors-lets-party books I ferreted out of the library's adult fiction section when I was a kid. Massive outbreaks that eliminate scores of people is a sick interest of mine. I think any type of armageddon-inducing event may be. Because in the fantasy all the stupid people are killed off, leaving me, a couple friends, and Neiman Marcus to ourselves. In reality it don't happen that way. Smart & stupid alike get taken down, Neiman Marcus is looted and burned. Which is why I was edgy in the hospital today, listening to the air flow throught the old ventilation system, wondering if there were any secret isolation rooms in some incognito ward, of whose air I was inhaling. Sometimes, an overactive imagination is a bad thing.

So have a good weekend, filthies. Eat your echinacea.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie