11:44 a.m. Festival Flava 2003-05-04
Reaped So I went to Jazzfest yesterday. It's not only a celebration of music & food & recreational imbibement, but a test of stamina. How much sun can you take, and is it proportional to the amount of inebriates consumed?

This was my second time. My memory of the first is patchy at best. I remember Paul Simon, crawfish bread, the various degrees of port-a-john filth. Needless to say, yesterday was much better.

We arrived at the congo stage around 11 am, in order to secure a good spot for LL Cool J & Third World later in the day. Mike brought Ray, a 16 foot stickman made out of bendy plastic plumbing supplies & John Lennon glasses, his fest marker pole that any seasoned jazz fest attender will bring in order to more easily find your spot in a mob of 30,000 people.

Which you need, considering we were a walking natural drug store.


Festival recipe # 1: divide 1 fifth of smuggled Crown between 2 large plain cups of shaved ice from the sno ball stand. Add two-thirds a cup old school hiphop. Stir & serve at 100% humidity under sunny skies.


Sometime after the p0t c00kies and chocolate shr00m bon bons we wandered around the grounds looking for a real bathroom. I found an ambandoned umbrella near the food lines. It looked exactly like umbrella I bought in NYC during the great snowstorm of 1999, which to my addled brain seemed to indicate it was a gift from festival gods. I giggled.


festival recipe # 2: take 1 large strawberry lemonade, add vodka. best consumed quickly before ice melts.


Before LL there was this great diva, Mavis Staples. Lenny Kravitz played guitar for the last set. This is why Jazz Fest rules.

This is why it sucks: being so h1gh you forget about the Funky Meters until after they're over.

Which is ok since there are mist tents.

And craw fish sacks.

And drummers from Ghana.

And thanks to the umbrella, no serious sunburn.

I've said it before & I'll say it again, viva la weekend.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie