7:16 p.m. Books 2002-03-15
Reaped my stomach is bloated with the rotted remains of whitecastle burgers and ramen. i eat so well here in the city. [urp] ah, the better to soak up the alcohol later, my dear.

they say the Strand bookstore is 8 miles of books, but as far as i can tell it was only a 2 story structure on a city block by nyu. found London by Rutherford and Pnin by Nabokov. mmm good. also a t-shirt, cos i'm a tourist this week and into material culture like that.

On the way home the city was bathed in this iridescent orange glow: it was on fire. more likely, probably just the sun shining through smog. but pretty. off the stop i found two more books The Gulag Archipelago by my dear friend Aleksandr Solzhnitsyn and Solaris, a sci-fi book by Lem Stanislaw that my dork friends insist i need to read if i want to understand anything. Nothing like a couple of french scifi novels and a bio of a man's experience in Stalin's labour camps to keep one in a fresh and happy mood. that's what i'm saying.

So now, i will drink to the oddities of our modern world...cos happy hour's free at the local bar. I leave tomorrow, or die, depending on the whims of higher powers. it was good while lasted.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie