11:53 a.m. THE WORSTEST LIBRARIAN OF ALL 2003-06-16
Reaped I will be getting about to the family drama sometime today, but for now let's observe why I'm sitting here trying not to cry at my desk.

So Field Day was cancelled: that was the big vacation using 3 days of leave. Since it was cancelled, I didn't use it. Then I had to go home b/c G-ma's brain was swelling & they thought it was the end: 2 more days.

So, I asked for 2 days off for 4th o' July so I can see my dad & Grampa in the nursing home on one coast, then drop by mom & G-ma on the west coast.

AND BOSSLADY SHUT ME DOWN!

<< I am very concerned about your ongoing use of leave with the resulting low balances. With the 4 additional hours of leave in late June and these 16, you will use 20 more hours. You will earn 14 at the end of July, which will give you a balance of only 23. If you have a need for leave but have run out, for even a few hours, which means a request for leave without pay will have to be submitted for you. This is a process involving many people. It is not something we do lightly.

Please re-consider this request.>>

So I said:

[[ I understand your concern. The issue at hand is I am going to visit my father & grandfather on the west coast, but my mother also wants me to visit the east coast to spend time with them as well, and I really would like to visit with my grandma while she's still up & around. 23 hours is still over 2 days of leave & I'm not planning to take anything after that until September. I understand the gravity of the situation for you and the trouble it could possibly cause with the LWOP issue, but hope in turn that you also understand my position & could work with me a little. When my grandmother does pass away I get two days leave from FMLA as well as whatever is left.

Please let me know how many hours you want me to keep in reserve for leave at all times so we don't have to do this again. ]]

What is fucked up: it's my days off & I have to listen to this? I have to explain exactly to BossLady what I'm doing with MY time off?

You know this will only lead to another "professionalism" speech. YOU KNOW. I am the irresponsible newbie librarian to be put in place at every turn.

BRING ME THE HEAD OF MELVILLE DEWEY

so i may spit in it. I hate my job right now. Want something part time where I don't have to deal with this shit.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie