4:00 p.m. Fighter Jet Friday 2003-05-23
Reaped On my smoke break today I saw 2 F15 fighter jets running tandem over the city. When I first glimpsed them they were pointed directly towards the ground, flipping over like a stack of flapjacks & shooting off towards the CBD.

Should I be disturbed?

Did I imagine it?

Just another young American watching skies for signs of the Apocalypse.

Normality.

This weekend promises to be a break from that very thing. There are things afoot...interesting things.

Not really, unless you count d0s1a, wine & Neal Stephenson's Zodiac by the pool as interesting. & baklava. Lots & lots of baklava.

Tonight I have a date with my living room. It needs a makeover. Earlier this week we discovered some of our neighbors had left a bunch of furniture out for the Vets or something. Dom of the Dumpster Dive I am, I immediately scoped & snagged 2 bookcases, a cute blue 3 legged table, & a plastic magazine holder.

I had been needing one of those holders for all my Saveur & Martha Stewart** magazines in the kitchen, so I considered it kismet.

Crab briefly chastised me for stealing from homeless people. "Shut up & put this in the house Crab!" I said. "Look over there," pointing to our neighbors, who sat idling in their beat up pickup, watching us steal from charity, "they were gonna do the same thing." I waved, they waved back, thoroughly enjoying watching the white girl lug bookcases off the street in her work clothes. We poor too, holla if ya hear me.

So tonight I'm reorganizing the computer area. It looks like a pile of ash & class syllabi right now. When I'm done, it shall resemble pottery barn, no shit.

The end.


**Somehow I ended up with a free subscription to Saveur, though most of their recipes involve expensive mail-order ingredients from France. The Martha Stewarts are a gift from my mom, & you should never look a gift horse in the mouth, ESPECIALLY if it has haliotosis. So shut up, someday it'll have collector value.


PS Go look at the Stereotypical Office Page off the SSSS page & guess the ones I did.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie