2:03 p.m. a very evil monday 2004-04-05
Reaped So the old cataloger is on a rampage today.

I�m doing collection development (medical entomology anyone??) at the desk, the area is dead. �Weez� I hear someone whisper.

I look around, it�s the cataloger, shelving journals behind me.

�Do you know who�s sitting at that table back there?� she whispers.

�Nope.�

�Well they left their purse on the table.�

�Well, I�m sitting this way and the table�s back there. Sorry. I�m sure it�ll be OK.�

Cataloger hovers around the reference area, worriedly clutching a stack of journals to her chest and glancing at the table. Shortly a girl emerges from the bathroom and goes over to the reference computers. Suspecting what is coming, I concentrate on filling out the yellow book request slips.

�Excuse me, are you sitting over there?� I hear Cataloger ask the girl.

�Yeah, I�m just checking-�

�You left your purse on the table, and that�s really not a wise thing to do because people will come in here and steal it.�

�I�m going right back over there,� replies the girl, �I�m just checking my email.�

�And I see you have some coffee on the table?� continues the cataloger.

�Yeah-�

�Well, you�re not allowed to have that in here. You have to go outside to drink it. Now, either get the coffee out of here or I�ll remove it for you.�

So the girl goes to get her purse & coffee, & cataloger follows her. I assume to make sure the girl *really does* leave the library with her offensive coffee (& purse of course). She does. Practically runs, her papers & books left scattered on the table. I wonder if she�ll come back for them. How mortifying. I felt embarrassed for working here.

The old cataloger was supposed to retire five years ago. But she�s not married, no grandkids, got nothing better to do than shelve journals & worry about people bringing coffee into the library.

And people wonder why librarians have such spinster reputation.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie