2:54 p.m. eight inches of cat shit, guest starring Dave Pirner 2003-02-18
Reaped So the shit went down here at the institution. Big bosslady has been sending out reminders in all caps about �fair use� of computers, in that it is FAIRly unbelievable that someone is gonna fire me for using hotmail.

Not that I even want to use that crappy 2 bit excuse for a spam-garden.

but we shall see. there is that whole episode with sarah kozer and the dirty dirty pics they put up at the smoking gun. though systems should THANK me for putting that in their history files. jeez.

My point is, things may get sporadic around these here parts since i'm a vaguely paranoid person at times & for some reason i have all this work that keeps demanding my time. the nerve.

****

Guess what? It�s NOT snowing here. Not one chilly splat. But I do have at least eight inches of cat shit piled up next to my house. Just love shoveling cat shit off my shoes, my car, my carpet. And it's always so lovingly gift wrapped in dried leaves of oak.

This weekend it rained. Hard. Nasty. Slightly acidic. But neither rain nor sleet nor muriatic acid would deter me from my Saturday night mission: the first and only Carnivale parade that meanders through the Quarter: the Krewe de Vieux. Woo hoo. We met at Blood Freak�s house, donned garbage bags, hopped on our bikes & took the back way to downtown. Let me just say, lighting doesn�t look half as striking riding in your cushy dry car. Become one with the storm, drink the ozone, smoke the clouds, splash the puddles�that�s what we did. Then we ate some shroom stems for dinner, had a post meal shmoke, tossed back a cocktail, and got on with the penis party.

Literally. Never have I seen so many creative uses for paper mache phalli in my life. Like, the �Cock�s Cable� float. It took the Sodom that is television to a new level. Actually, it pretty much gave it a new asshole. Truly. The floats ruled. All of them pulled by asses, the traditional way. Scantily clad men & women handed out beads & coins & condoms, a couple of sperm brigades followed a float dedicated to ovulation (think big pink egg), the usual fair. The deluge stopped right before the parade, so I was able to don my neon-pink �Tina Turner shag� feather wig. Scored me some beads, indeed. Also scored my neck and dress a lovely shade of fuchsia. (I didn�t say it stopped raining, just let up.) This kinda pissed me off, since it was my dress from the Camden Market in London, but there�s always casualties�

And did I mention spotting Dave Pirner (think Soul Asylum) at dba bar? I think not. Though he was easy to spot, what with sitting in the front booth in the glass window. One of the girls in the entourage waited for him to refresh his drink at the bar to make contact. Which he responded to in a manner evincing the thought �I don�t care if you live or die�. Big freakin surprise there, huh? A rock star acting like a dick? Go figure. But the girl was cool. She was a rocker from Minneapolis. Reminded me of Rumble.

But yeah. I decided to refrain from the celebrity worship for several reasons:

1) Its hard to kiss ass when your head is melting.

2) Its hard to kiss ass when the band in question was only relatively good for a short amount of time

3) Its hard to kiss ass when you look like a drowned rat. (ahem, punk rock drowned rat.)

So anyway. That brings my total celeb count for the greater Crescent City area to a big TWO, and Carnivale parades to a striking ONE. I�m stoked though. Such a hard core drug addled urban street biker chick these days. Look out. Especially all ya�lls coming along for the ride.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie