6:23 p.m. A Bibliophytic Odour 2003-02-19
Reaped Discovered one of the float warehouses driving down towards Tchoupitoulas today. A quick glimpse of purple paper mach�, some gold plastic sheeting, that�s all. Enough to remember, driving is gonna suck next week.

Do you ever get that slight foreboding feeling of dread, like you know that tampon string is sticking out of your swimsuit but there�s no way you�re spreading your legs to look? That�s how I felt this afternoon, going into this meeting. Because I know entering that conference room is like facing down the Spanish Inquisition, except we�re all librarians & nobody would be merciful enough to resort to simple physical torture.

Uh-uh. Here we pull your fingernails out by words alone and them feed �em to you on a cracker.

Mmmm, cracker.

But what am I talking about? Oh yeah, the meeting. It�s not that I dislike any of the other �brarians. It�s our decision making process. It takes. So. Fucking. Long. Drives me nuts. Every little thing must be dissected to its microcosmical level, voted on, and rescheduled. Eight little objectives. EIGHT, and it took two and a half hours. TWO AND A HALF HOURS, and only a small Valentine�s day portion of m&m�s to keep me going.

And the smell, ye gods, the SMELL coming off ol� mental officemate�s feet, JESUS smelled like she stuffed a dead cat in those shoes. Geh. First I was like, *sniff* �Ew. Farty.� *sniff* �is that ME?� *sniffsniff* �nope, only nicotine & Clinique Happy here�. *Sniff* ::glance towards Crazy Officemate Librarian�s feet resting in the empty chair next to me:: *less enthusiastic sniff* �yep. Definitely Crazy ol� officemate.�

So I spent a good amount of time with my nose in the elbow of my sweater & the other half not making eye contact with Stinky Feet. The meeting wore on. Half the reason it gets unbearable is the fact Stinky Feet must be the supreme knowledgeable source on EVERYTHING and the other is her constant corrections that make me feel like a mo-ron. But I guess it must have eventually showed, because after the meeting ended the other �Brarians were like, �your opinion counts�Don�t listen to her�Sometimes, ya just gotta zone people out.� Touche. Made me feel better. I try to get along with old crotchety, it�s just very trying cos� she�s more venerable & tenured & damn if she knows it. But whatever. Live and learn. Just don�t sniff too much.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie