7:40 p.m. Road trip! 2003-04-16
Reaped Awww yeah. Field Day is on! We'll gizzo to fizzo dizzo, my nizzo. I just hope it doesn't suck with all the stupid camp rules the people have created. I understand about liability & all that stuff, but no fires? No CAMP STOVES? "Bring enough money" ??!!

NO ALCOHOL???!!!

The alcohol ban I can handle. As Mike put it, when he called to brag about snagging the secret radiohead presale password & hence tix, "That's what the boot of your car is for."

"Boot?"

"You know, the spare tire part."

"Oh yeah. Yeah. The boot."

The site actually instructs concertgoers to bring enough money. Check it out. Like they're forcing you to buy hot food or deal with cold cuts. At least coolers haven't been banned...yet.

So anyway, I penned a little email to the concert organizers concerning certain camping rules:

Hello,

I am planning to go to field day & camp for the weekend. Since my group will be driving there from New Orleans LA, and I�ve never camped in Long Island, I would like you to clarify a couple pieces of information pertaining to camping & what not to bring.

1. THERE�S NO CHECK-IN AREA�what does this mean in terms of items not allowed in camp grounds? Are you searching every car as it comes in, or checking camp sites randomly after they set up? How does one enter Field Day if there is no place to check in? How can you tell what we bring if there�s no check-in point? Are you referring to a check in point between the camping & the music field? This doesn�t really make sense.

2. BANNING PROPANE�I respect protecting the wilderness from human made fires & explosions. However, are you also forbidding camp stoves such as the ones made by Coleman that use camp fuel? You may want to add that to the list of banned items to clarify.

3. BRINGING ENOUGH MONEY FOR THE WEEKEND�How much is �enough�? Is this Disney World or Dollar Store reasonable prices ? How much do you foresee food & alcohol costing (price range) if we aren�t allowed to bring any in ourselves? If we aren�t allowed to bring our own stoves to cook with, or alcohol to make cocktails, this is important information.

4. According to �Onsite Facilities�--�You cannot bring your own alcohol or drinks into the concert field (besides factory sealed water bottles). There will be beverages including beer and wine for sale onsite.� Is this alcohol ban just on the concert field, or the entire camp ground? Can we bring plastic bottles of hard liquor for our camp site? If not, will there be beer & wine vendors in the campgrounds so you don�t have to walk a mile for a beer? Will you be selling 6 packs at the camp store?

5. Is a folding camp chair considered lawn furniture?

6. Will there be a drum circle/community fire pit anywhere on premises?

*snip*

So we'll see how long it takes for them to reply, if at all. I'll post if they do. I'm not holding my breath.

Overall though, I don't freakin care about the stoopid rules. If people wanna kill themselves in the name of rock, they will. Make all the rules you want, Field Day, we'll happily find ways to circumvent, bend and otherwise sneak our way around them. Hell, we ain't even buying drizzo til we get to New York. Take that, interstate police!

So, if any of you dlanders decide to go to this thing, we're gonna do a theme camp. A Prisoner theme camp. Complete with anti-escape orb for real this time. (Some may remember similar Mardi Gras plans, but it didn't happen. This summer. Woo Hoo.)

& DID I MENTION I FINALLY GET TO SEE RADIOHEAD LIVE?

Someone's dying happy later this year. Someone.

Tee hee. Tomorrow is pseudo-Friday, the real one being reserved for the Western Allah. Now Weez go home. Smizzo a big wizzo, my bizzo.

(Tomorrow I'll revert to a semblance of normalcy. Maybe)

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie