3:46 p.m. Rain 1; cars 0 2003-06-19
Reaped It�s pouring so hard in the Crescent City, you�d think it was Seattle. The water encroaches our building, it�s over the curb, over the grass, almost over the pristine pruned shrubbery. SUVs can make it, but not a taxi is in sight. The rain is winning.

And then, strange things in the library, my friend. One of the glass panels on the stairs to the upper floors just up and shattered all over the place. One of the Circgirls heard it pop & cracks began to spider out across the pane while I was eating my chicken salad in the break room. It took one person walking up the stairs to finish the job. There was a loud pop, then raining glass. For a moment I thought is was one of the windows of the library. Oh if it were! I would not be penning this entry in that case. But work is no longer happening this Thursday afternoon. There�s too much to gawk at: glass on the floor, glass on the computers, glass in the plastic plants�We ran around picking up the more interesting larger pieces before the cleaning crews came in. One of mine looks like America. The workers string yellow �No Parking� tape around the circulation desk & vacuum relentlessly. We are chased back to our desks by the appearance of Dr. Mushypants, one of the suits from the eighth floor who oversees our productivity. And the rain begins to settle down.

Through my window you can see the water reversing directions back down the drains, smearing orange mud as it abandons the asphalt. Soon the cars can take over the road again, & the canal is lost until the next deluge.


In other news. I got tickets to the White Stripes on Monday, and they are on the floor. Patience pays off in the end. Been trying since I got paid & up til today all fickle ticketmaster would give was balcony. For 27 Bucks? Then another 11 for the service of fucking me in the ass? Um, no. But yeah, since they�re floor it�s different.

Tonight is 80�s night, & I got tomorrow off. It�s at a new place since the Sh1m Sh4m shut down, but I know this girl who got me on the guest list +1. So I feel so special for some reason. Tee. I asked the tattooed tech services boy if he wants to go. Crab is just not a club kid, though he�ll wine & accuse...but we�ll see. & we have to renew our lease by July 1st. They�re raising rent by 25 bucks, but it�s not that bad�However I need to decide if I wanna move or not before then. Sigh. Too many choices. Any suggestions? �Cause I�m such a good listener, what?

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie