4:09 p.m. You know how I'm always praying for a hurrican to stop work? 2003-08-27
Reaped

Busy afternoon here at ol� crescent city library. A pipe broke in the service elevator shaft, spilling A/C water everywhere. Like the Rare Books room. And the computer labs. And basically everywhere on the second floor. I first cued in that something was wrong when I observed two colleagues racing upstairs with blocks of paper towels streaming from their hands. Then Crazy Systems Librarian attacked the computer key cabinet by my office window, mumbling, �the lab�s got it too...� and running off keys a-jingling.

Then the fire alarm started going off.

As I was evacuating with everyone else, I wondered who�s bright idea it was to have the fire alarm LOUDER in the escape staircase than the library itself. But this is Louisiana. Can�t ask for much.

Outside was a madhouse. Like school fire drills, all the departments crowded into messy cliques. I smoked a Salem and sweated in the 98 degree heat.

About ten minutes later they let us back in the building. �Critical library personnel only�, which means all of us hiked back in.

�Don�t worry!� I shouted over my shoulder as we returned to cleanu up the mess, �it�s just the librarians, we don�t really need them anyway!�

Back in the salt mines, the second floor dripped with supercooled water. The CAtaloger pointed out to us the small asian man from Physical Plant who first discovered this fountain of youth. Much like Desoto, he screamed like a banshee in an unkknown language and pointed.

Now the AC is shut down in the building, apparently the culprit of this internal gullywasher. I sit and sweat in this tropical rain forest. Maintenance runs wet-vacs over Lake Computer Lab, as the Cataloger stares disconsolately at what was once our Rare Books Collection, soon to be known as the Rare Book Swamp & Algae farm. On the upside, we're closing at 4pm, so everyone goes home early so the books on the second floor can rot & mold in peace. But first we get to have ice cream, a celebratory gesture the end of summer, announced earlier today by Big Boss Lady for a job well done.

Wearing polyesther and heavy pants, I say hurray for ice cream. Never a dull moment.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie