4:52 p.m. Granny panties, powepoint & general geekdom 2003-07-25
Reaped So crazy officemate wandered by the vacant reference area earlier this morning. �Hellooo�� I say. �Hell-lo.� she replies, �It�s nice to see you with a smile on your face,� she says. I snort & giggle. For only I could look chipper on three hours of sleep & a minor hangover.

I am a creature of habit. Thursdays are New Wave. Highlights of the evening included a hairless goth who drank only coke & grenadine, a cute little gay boy who fucked up my hair & some guy looking up my skirt during the final thumps of You Spin Me Round (Like A Record). Hope ya like the grannie panties, boys.

But what�s that sposed to mean?! The words backhanded compliment come to mind. But yeah, it�s true. I�ve been through a couple bad weeks here at the salt mine. It�s getting better though. Used my mad powerpoint skills for a project for Big Boss Lady, who needed it in turn to give to her Boss, one of the 8th Floor suits. He ordered all the depts. under his bidding to create 3 slides each to present to his bosses. I hate to tell Dr. Suit, but that powerpoint is gonna suck. Fifteen different departments all creating their own 3 slides? You do realize this is Louisiana. They only climbed out of the primordial ooze a couple years ago. The one I really sympathize with is IT guy. It�s his job as Dr. Suit�s lackey to put it all the slides together into one seamless dog & pony show that will impress everyone & make Dr. Suit look good. So the upshot of it all, Big Boss Lady thinks I�m the custom background transparency crop freak shizzle, & scat references aside, it ain�t a bad thing to be. The secret is shortcut keys. Makes you look fast & knowledgeable, even if its just cut n� paste.

It occurs to me that in bragging about these mad skills I�m reinforcing all that is geek about geekdom. Oh well. One time at bandcamp�

Speaking of, one of my nola librarygrrls went to high school with the guy who wrote Amer1can P1e. So I had to ask, �Was your school really like that? All cliques & parties & upper middle class?�

�Oh totally,� she says. �all my friends were in band, and they were always amped about band camp. They thought it ruled.�

Not all band camps are like that though. Ours was equivalent to the seventh cantos of hell. Or maybe ninth. It�s a fine line.

It�s quite unfortunate when the underside of your boob itches & you�re sitting in a public place where you can�t exactly scratch it. Crotch-itch its ok, it�s under the desk, incognito. Boob-itch cannot exactly be camouflaged when one is wearing a tank top. A pencil looks bad, & rubbing the bottom edge of the bra against the desk while pretending to engross oneself in a webpage looks worse. Curse your pruritic padding, miracle bra!


Ive seen Calvin pissing on Chevy, Calvin pissing on Ford

Calvin pissing on Osama,

Calvin pissing on George

But ere today i'd never seen him

prayin 'fore the Lord

this poem is dedicated to the driver of the blue van w/ the reborn Calvin & Hobbes sticker, who taught me that even Jesus don't protect you when the meter money runs out.


Viva la weekend peoples. Lord knows i will.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie