5:28 p.m. There's always Aha's "Lie Down In Darkness" 2003-08-14
Reaped Ahhh drama. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

1) New York
2) Detroit
3) Ontario
4) New Haven

Quoth the emergency officials, �We have no idea what�s happened.�

Good job boys. When all else fails, plead ignorance.

I�m wonderin� about my eastern sea board friends though. Cap�n? You alright up there? Monty? Hangin� in there in the burroughs? My, I hope she�s not caught in an elevator or tunnel or anywhere dark and menacing. That would suck.

So at first I was like, woo hoo blackout! Anarchy! Darkness! Fires! Spread to me, please!

But I�ve calmed a bit. Remind myself I�ve vowed to go out tonight, if nothing to breathe alcohol fumes on uptight work people tomorrow. Besides, power out in the Crescent City means chaos a little closer to home, & we�re the type of place that has at least 4 gunshot homicides on a good day. And let�s face it, the entire metro area is constructed of matchsticks and discarded propane tanks. So no tempting fate just now, especially with the attack-Crab out of town. Such a good boy. Who else would call me at work from T4mp4 to inform me of such disastrous goings-on?

And I love the ominous countdowns to darkness: SUNSET AT 7:55 PM ET IN NYC... 8:35 PM DETROIT... It's spooky. But that's enough disaster fantasizing.

In other news, Ani is coming to town for a special acoustic set but it�s 30 bucks, but that�s ok because Yo La Tengo is playing Tips for 15. You give a little, you get a little. It�s an exchange.

I�m bored.
The reference desk is muerte.
Still 20 minutes before I�ll take a break.
Sigh.
Entertain me, please?
That's alright, I'll do it myself.

**********

So in honor of the impending darness of the entire Eastern Seaboard (I love saying 'eastern seaboard', makes me think of nuclear war, like, 'the radioactivity has spread over the entire eastern seaboard...but i digress), and my impending boredom, I give to you

FaMoUs QuOTes of the DArK

  • Knowing your own darkness is the best method for dealing with the darknesses of other people. --Carl Gustav Jung
  • Give light, and the darkness will disappear of itself. - Desiderius Erasmus
  • "The bright day is done, And we are for the dark." -Iras, Antony & Cleopatra, 5:2:192
  • "My whole life is a dark room. One, big, dark, room." -Lydia, Beetlejuice
  • "Aaah! Natural light! Get it off me! Get it off me!" -Barney Gumble, "The Simpsons" (some of these were found atthis lady's journal.)
  • Shop smart, shop S-mart!--Ash: Army of Darkness (it works shuddyap)
  • There is no darkness but ignorance. --Shakespeare
  • And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not. -- John 1:5 (i like that one)
  • Do not go gentle into that good night. / Rage, rage against the dying of the light. -- Dylan Thomas (that one too)
  • As one lamp serves to dispel a thousand years of darkness, so one flash of wisdom destroys ten thousand years of ignorance- Hui-Neng
  • What is light without dark?--Darkness Legend
Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie