4:16 p.m. another day, another trodden civil liberty 2002-11-19
Reaped They finally admitted it. I wasn't so paranoid after all, when I thought they were tagging me at the airport. Salon.com today reports there is indeed a black list of people marked for security checks.

"The Transportation Security Administration has acknowledged for the first time that the government has a list of about 1,000 people who are deemed "threats to aviation" and not allowed on airplanes under any circumstances. According to thier spokesman Dan Steigman, the agency has no guidelines to determine who gets on the list, and no procedures for getting off the list if someone is wrongfully on it."

PLUS they're not allowed to tell who recommended your name for the list BUT they'll gladly tell private sectors & other countries if you're on it. So. and i love "approximately 1000". Does that mean 1001 or 10,0001? Heck, just throw in all those god-dammed atheist college freshmen while you're at it. they're all carrying drugs anyway. but i digress.

Some potential terrorists of the moment include a catholic nun from Milwaukee, Doug Stuber, who ran Nader's campaign back in 2000, and a handful of writers & editors from the Seven Stories Press, one of those leftist-leaning bleeding heart pinko communes masquerading as a book publisher.

I'll try and abstain from glaring references to *ahem* J EDGAR HOOVER and all that dirty mess, but really, Ashcroft looks like a patient fresh from lobotomy lab and it scares me that these fat dumb white men get to make all the decisions about who gets to fly and who get's thier ass probed. They're the freakin terrorists, alright? I'm on that list yet?

The whole thing makes me want to scream in a rather apathetic way. As if I could do anything about it. In fact, screaming just calls attention to yourself. Kinda like voting. We live in 1984. C'mon now, everybody sing it. 'I love Big brother and he loves me. He showed me when probed my little hiney.'

Read this article:

Grounded: The Government's Air Passenger Blacklist

By Dave Lindorff,

Salon

November 17, 2002

or try the wall st. journal today:

"FBI's Post-Sept. 11 'Watch List' Mutates, Acquires Life of Its

Own," article in today's Wall Street Journal

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie