12:27 p.m. look at me world, i'm yupsville usa. 2003-01-07
Reaped I�m raver librarian today. Got the baby blue parachute skirt w/ detachable �drug� pockets & mary janes by sugar, topped off with a sparkly turtleneck sweater. (mostly purchased in queens with a certain lady.) Think I may have pissed off the one circ girl today, cos I was like, �it�s a size 5 and I�m surprised it still fits.� I could feel her eyes burning into my ass from behind. Some things I guess are inappropriate to mention at work, for example, if you can fit into a size 5 and someone else there is on weight watchers**, they usually don�t like to hear that you, who eat Christmas candy & peanut butter & cheez crackers for breakfast, can do such a thing & still fit stuff. I think one of the reasons I eat cafeteria food so much is the scrutiny that goes on in the break room. Who�s eating what? I feel guilty scarfing down my 2 slices of odiously unhealthy papa johns pizza with garlic butter, coke and butterfingers in front of the lady w/ tea & an apple. Oh well.

And while I�m on this topic, let me wonder aloud about yet another she-m-ism. m&m went to NYC over Christmas for the modern language association annual conference, and she bought most of her clothes smaller than what she is. So she�s got all this cool stuff that barely fits. She-m calls this motivation to work out. I call it wasting money on things you may never wear. Dang.

really should be working on collection development right now. Must.stop.journaling.

so, my car is terminally ill. my old, dirty 92 tempo with the stickers screaming �avant bitch� & �you�re all sheep�, the car that bore me to the crescent city and parts beyond, my bong on the go, is making the final death rattle. It�s main issue, getting stuck in 2nd gear, making a very disturbed revving sound, and refusing to go faster than 20 mph. This eventually forces me over to the side of the road to restart the car, the only way to fix the problem. The real crappy thing is I [foolishly] sunk a grand into the transmission exactly this time last year AND it has a 'lifetime guarantee', if only I could get it back to the aamco in backwater city FL. Citicorps is still thanking me for that credit card transaction. So, I�m at the point where I can't spend any more on it. Too far gone for what its worth--no ac, locks work sporadically, must open passenger door from inside, broken mirror & dents from unfortunate side-swiping episode...poor invalid car. stupid rage-inducing car. methinks I�m gonna buy a jetta. soon. like test drive one tonight.

So the question now becomes, to get a brake tag for the tempo for the couple weeks I have it or continue on without? Brake tag inspections are another oddity of the crescent city, basically invented so residents can waste half the day waiting for greasy mechanics to stop ogling them and put the damn sticker on their car. They don't test for emissions or really anything that impacts driving, but they do check windshield wipers. The system was so corrupt that the mayor shut it down a couple months ago. Supposedly I�m to go deal with this tomorrow, but it may be just as easy to wait and see. technically this was supposed to be done right after I changed my tags, but I was pulled by the 5-0 right after that & the cop didn't really seem to even care that my new plates were laying in the back seat of my car. so i may have some leeway here.

For now, on to lunch, collection development, and the afternoon bitch session-excuse me, reference mtg.

look at me world, i'm yupsville usa.

**this is really a phenomenon here, a couple people do it. Very strange to me, watching them dole out the 4 mini burrito things that add up to exactly 200 calories. I dunno.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.
� �



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie