2:18 p.m. Wednesday afternoon, wish i was watchin' cartoons. Or inhaling balloons... 2002-02-13
Reaped "excuse me, you work here?"

student approaches rabid librarian, who is trying to log someone into their email.

"yes, what do you need?"

"can you tell me approximately how many people come into this reference desk area every hour?"

student is holding a clipboard. On it, I see a title called 'reference area', and a bunch of little hash marks. I'm distracted, and say,

"oh, probably 20 or so." and type away for the other guy.

"twenty?!"

student gives me the patented post-adolescent 'you're full of shit' eyebrow raise.

"Well, i don't reallly know. We don't

keep track on how many people walk through the doors, we count the questions we get."

"Questions??!!" Student is looking confused/mad, for a moment, I wonder if he even knows what the purpose of reference is. Not that it matters. What matters is I suspect I am doing his homework for him. This annoys rabid librarian to no end.

"Yeah, you know, the ones you ask the reference desk?" I point to the large round wood work station about two feet away from us. I get a blank stare.

"Whatever" I say, "its probably like 100 or so an hour. But I'm no official source. Why don't you go count and see?" Which is what you were supposed to do in the first place, mindless fratboy, I think as I turn away.

patrons. how i hate you somedays.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie