12:13 p.m. Bored / pissed / bored / pissed 2003-01-28
Reaped

Am I a bad librarian to pass off a mediated search to another?

So today people were having trouble logging into Ovid, then I tried it myself and received the same �You are not authorized to view this� error message and thought, �Ooh! Yep! Better send one of those trusty emails to everyone alerting them we�re experiencing problems!� and I did a little dance cos I thought I was so one the ball, winning one for the team and what have you.

And then I realized that my shiny new flat-screen computer was running on Windows XP, which wouldn�t really matter except due to ridiculous & stupid intranet rules here you have to login in an entirely different way. Which thus explains the next email reprinted here in its entirety: �Never mind, I�m retarded. Thanks, weezer1d�

That was the excitement of this morning.

Well actually, my REAL excitement was on the way to work. Black Jetta behind me. Stuck in traffic as usual, I check out my twin. It�s got plates from Cali in the front. And the driver? Spitting image of Jon Cusack. Checking me out. Followed me practically all the way to work. Had I not gunned it at that yellow light, who knows? Though I thought his movie was done shooting here.

And now, let me wax a little poetic about Beck.

*****

Austin City Limits on my TV last Saturday night.

Beck croons and growls, makes me feel alright

If I could have one wish, this is what it�d be,

Instead of that harmonica, his lips�d be touchin me.

*****

Here�s to hoping this afternoon is better�.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie