10:14 p.m. the statue got me high, but it's ok in the long run 2003-02-01
Reaped i've got the melancholy blues...

remember eating fish sticks, circa 2nd grade, being excited for the after lunch tv lift-off...the disappointment, the soft perplexed brow of a seven-year-old, subdued tones through the sunny florida afternoon...it's wierd looking back what 15-19 years later,,,this is the adult version of what we felt back in 86, or whenever it was. i woke up the crab this morning, say, 11 am CT, saying, 'something very sad happened this morning...', 'what,' he asks, and the i tell him...

[it happened while i was doing my budget this morning sippin on coffee...or maybe it was the sonic boom that unconsciously jolted me from sleep...]

you know i went to space camp in cape canaveral back when i was a gap-toothed kid, got the suit still to prove it, expensive souvenier it was...that and my dad living on the space coast so long...memorabilia from apollo flights, stickers from the first russki-america original space flight...to see this kind of tragedy breaks me. i think it breaks up all the sf geeks out there. i mean, the goddamn thing was too old to be flying, regardless of how many revamps; changing the tiles, a new gas tank, whatevcer you want, something out dating my sister should not be shippping people into space. blame it on the gov't, apathy, cost cutting, back room handshakes...it's just sheer human folly when it comes down to it.

'columbia disappearance', that's what they were calling it, as the ash rained down 120 miles square, to the louisiana state line...and my sister says my our step-dad's father is in the hospital for surgery on a brain anuyerism...what gives, higher deity(ies)?

rule of three?

with everything going on, it makes me think of karma...the world's karma: our country's karma...my karma...does it serve us right in some ways? makes me think that's all. makes me mourn...makes me mad that georgie's got the speech writers to turn scripture into an eloquent history book sound byte...

makes me wonder, what comes next?

so yeah. sigh. the stratosphere heaves a heavy sigh for the ones who tromped the stars...who stared into the blind light of the universe and knew infinity if just for one moment...speeding blindly through the ozone, stumbling on forward into this dark, dark dawn.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie