8:57 a.m. Dear Baby, Welcome to Dumpsville. Population: You 2003-02-04
Reaped Meh. I'm bummed. My abstract didn't get accepted for the conference in San Diego. To reiterate, meh.

Somehow, I'm not surprised. I never get accepted for library-related stuff. For example, the New York Public LIbrary internship? Fucked that telephone interview up right good. The SLIS scholarship at USF? Didn't kiss enough professor ass of those in charge of delving out the moolah. And now this rejection. Blah blah blah. When I first saw the email I was like, woo hoo! don't have to do any work on that! But now i'm like, damn, no sunny San Diego in May either.

Fuckers. Maybe some higher power is trying to tell me something. Like, stop wasting your time. Why even try? It's kinda frustrating. Like I know I'm a decent librarian, just no one else seems to realize it. And now i gotta deal with all these "i'm sorry, better luck next time" emails from my coworkers. So obviously somebody bcc'ed it all over the office. woo. hoo.


and now its time for a little Simpson's wisdom, to lighten the spirit.

"Your lives are in the hands of men no smarter than you or I, many of them incompetent boobs. I know this because I worked alongside them, gone bowling with them, watched them pass me over for promotions time and again. And I say... This stinks!"

"No, no, no, Lisa. If adults don't like their jobs, they don't go on strike. They just go in every day and do it really half-assed."

"If something is to hard to do, then it's not worth doing."

"Trying is the first step towards failure."

"You can't keep blaming yourself. Just blame yourself once, and move on."


you know, if i had the overhead i wouldn't be a librarian at all. I'd march my ass over to france for cooking school, come back & open a little beach bistro in florida, the kind thats cozy & small & my house would be attached & i'd let my mom live in the garage. too bad that whole independently wealthy by mid-twenties thing didn't work out. never does. i think it's more like you finally stop fooling yourself & own up to the fact you live for weekends and the seven days paid vacation during christmas. that you'll eventually have a mortgage for a house that's too small and that you don't really like anyway, that you're fat & have dumb acne-laden kids & break all the principles you said you'd never compromise back in the day.

but at least it's something to look forward too...kinda like looking forward to rejections from medical librarian associations. ah, sweet mystery of life, thou art a cold cudgel.

Sown
Fresh Cut
New digs - 2004-05-25
Bachelor hell - 2004-05-10
Grumble - 2004-05-07
Coachella pt. 2, or goddamn do my fingers hurt - 2004-05-05
Coachella part one, or, this monkey's gone to indio rawk heaven - 2004-05-05

Random Shearings
Rings
Profile
Guestbook
Mail
D-land
Older
Home
26
Links
Bandified
Geek Philosopher
/.
Drudge
Worst.Site.Ever.



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The WeatherPixie